Monday, February 11, 2008

To Our Community

The children's writing community is known for its supportiveness and friendliness. Recently, misunderstandings about the "Class of 2K" label have caused rifts in part of our community.

We, the Class of 2k8, are troubled by these misunderstandings. What threatens one writer threatens us all, and we should have voiced our concerns about these issues earlier. We regret that we did not. As first-time children's novelists, we are learning as we go. However, we wish to be clear now: We fully support Jackson Pearce, the 2009 Debutantes, and all other authors with books debuting in 2008, 2009, and beyond.

We are not only members of the Class of 2k8; we are also part of the larger children's writing community, and we value and respect that community and its members. We look forward, especially, to sharing the thrill of becoming first-time children’s novelists with other debut authors.

The Class of 2k8
Marissa Doyle, Jody Feldman, Lisa Schroeder, Jenny Meyerhoff, Nina Nelson, Sarah Prineas, Barrie Summy, Laurel Snyder, Debbie Reed Fischer, Nancy Viau, Kristin Tubb, PJ Hoover, Elizabeth Bunce, Jen Bradbury, Courtney Sheinmel, Regina Scott, Daphne Grab, Ellen Booraem, Donna Freitas, Terri Clark, Liz Gallagher, Teri Brown, Michele Barker, Brooke Taylor, Stacy Nyikos

No comments: